Passing CELTA to find jobs overseas

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

Hooman

Passing CELTA to find jobs overseas

Unread post by Hooman »

Hello everyone, My name is Hooman Jafari and I have been teaching English for over 7 years in Iran. I have masters degree in industrial engineering but after starting to teach English as a part-time job in private language institutes, I decided to become a professional in my job and start a career in the sector of teaching which I am passionate about.

I have passed a basic Teachers Training Course but mostly I added to my knowledge of teaching by practicing and doing research on teaching language.

Recently, I have decided to move abroad and teach English to people of other countries. In this regard I came across CELTA degree as a globally renowned and accepted certification to show proficiency in teaching. With all this taken into account, I wanted to ask you the following questions:

1- Since I already have years of experience in teaching, is it possible for me to find a job abroad immediately after passing the course (given that I get a pass A)? or do I have to gain some experience AFTER getting the certificate in my own country and then apply for overseas opportunities?
2- Does the center that I pass the course in offer any positions or assistance to find a job after the completion?
3- Is it possible to find positions in English speaking countries as a teacher for a non-native person?
4- Does taking the course in a specific country have an advantage over passing it online? (for example to find a job in that same country)

Thank you so much for taking your time answering me.
kdammers
Rising Star

Re: Passing CELTA to find jobs overseas

Unread post by kdammers »

Let me respond to your last two questions.

3. Yes, but it depends on the country. Some countries where this is possible, depending on the employer, are Mongolia and Kazakhstan.