Question about qualifications and employment

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

Mikemarcus

Question about qualifications and employment

Unread post by Mikemarcus »

Hello. This has probably been asked a lot here. I did browse through the first page of posts and didn’t really find the info I’m looking for.

I’m a business owner with a CV full of professional roles. I’m thinking of going part time and looking for a second string to my bow, so I’ve spent all morning trying to research whether it’s a viable direction to teach English in Madrid or Northern Spain. I don’t yet know how possible this is or what qualifications I might need and I’m trying to find out.

The problem is, as I’m sure you all know, sorting the wheat from the chaff. All the websites I’ve found seem scammy or fake to one extent or another and if I’ve hit on something genuine it’s been lost in the noise.

The two questions I have are as follows:

1) is there a qualification issued by an official, centralised entity that would be recognised by a Spanish language school? If so how do I access a course?

2) how do I find a legit Spanish language school that is in the business of paying teachers rather than trying to separate hopefuls from their money?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Please don’t tell me to use Google though. Google is how I eventually ended up here.
odyssey
Rising Star

Re: Question about qualifications and employment

Unread post by odyssey »

Mikemarcus wrote: 30 Oct 2021, 11:301) is there a qualification issued by an official, centralised entity that would be recognised by a Spanish language school? If so how do I access a course?
Basically, nothing in TEFL (teaching English as a foreign language) is official. There is no single, "centralised entity" that has any authority (although some outfits do try to pass themselves off as such).

This and more is explained at:
https://www.tefl.net/tefl-guide/
https://www.tefl.net/tefl-courses/guide.php