Practical advice for a 45 year old considering TEFL

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

mockturtle

Practical advice for a 45 year old considering TEFL

Unread post by mockturtle »

Hello to all, I am new to the forum.

I am a 45 year old woman who is seriously considering teaching English abroad. My circumstances are that I have the freedom to travel and take on long term contracts. I am in the process of applying for a CELTA course.

I have a degree, I am a qualified lawyer and have some city experience and (a long time ago)taught regulatory examination courses.

Ideally, I would like a position in Thailand or South East Asia but will consider elsewhere. However, I am concerned about my age and that I have been out of the job market for about 3 years. I am also concerned about pay levels etc. I want to work safely and live reasonably comfortably. Any surplus, I would use enjoying the culture and subsidising further travel. I am not expecting to return to the UK with a pot of cash.

Am I on a fool's errand? Any advice would be gratefully received.

Many thanks

MockTurtle
Mr_Grant

Re: Practical advice for a 45 year old considering TEFL

Unread post by Mr_Grant »

Hi there Mock Turtle,

Are you on a fool's errand? Absolutely not. At 45 years of age, you are still young! You shouldn't have any trouble finding employment as a teacher in Asia. And no, it doesn't matter that you've been out of the work force for a while.