Can an English teacher from China answer my questions?

Discussion about jobs and employment conditions

Moderator: Joe

Deffie

Can an English teacher from China answer my questions?

Unread post by Deffie »

Hello Everyone,

I have been researching opportunities on opportunities on teaching English in China. I have a few questions that I am unable to answer. I'll start with my qualifications and experience first. I realize the post is long and if you would like to scroll down to my questions. That would be fine as well. Any help will be appreciated.

I have recently graduated with a Bachelors degree in Arts and Humanities from the University of Texas at Dallas. I am 29 years old, American born Chinese male. I have been working for 13 years. My reasons for teaching in China is for the experience and the opportunity to save.

I have about two years of experience teaching children hip hop dance ages 8-13. I have taken a few education classes and have logged in fifteen hours of observation at a high school. I was an English conversation partner for two students from China for one semester. I am a Lead at my current job and part of my duties are to train new employees at a health lab at this position I train adults 25 and up. I have been at this job for a year. I'm not sure how my experience will be viewed by a potential employer.

I would like to teach in a non rural area. I've narrowed down my search to Sichuan, Shanghai and Hong Kong or around those areas. I would like to make 10,000 rmb a month with rent. I am willing to pay the my utilities and my plane ticket. I would like to teach 20 hours a week, 10 hours of office time with weekends off. Is this reasonable and is 10,000 rmb enough to live on?

My questions

I do not have a TEFL. Is this a requirement? If so which TEFL certificates will be recognized in China? If I take the $1,000 Oxford course will I get better offers?