So many questions...

Discussion about courses, qualifications etc

Moderator: Joe

Lmilton

So many questions...

Unread post by Lmilton »

Hi everyone! I'm a high school teacher in Australia and have been for 13 years, I have a full-time permanent position, but I'm looking to do something new with my life (typical of a teacher about to go back to work to start a new year!). I've been looking at some TEFL jobs and am curious to know more about the conditions and the actual lessons that would be taught, eg. do we as the teachers create all lessons, lesson plans, units of work, resources, etc? Also, having a double bachelor degree (B.Arts/B.Ed), would I need a TEFL certificate? Some of the pay indications are very high and better than what I get paid now, and for way less hours than I currently work - is that accurate?! If so, why is the pay so good? Are conditions tough? There are a lot of jobs on global-teachers.org that just sound amazing - Helsinki, Positano, Copenhagen, Brussels, etc - they seem too good to be true...are they? Sorry for all the questions, but please feel free to answer any of them!! -Lana
Briona
Top Contributor

Re: So many questions...

Unread post by Briona »

Hi Lana,
Lmilton wrote:I've been looking at some TEFL jobs ... There are a lot of jobs on global-teachers.org that just sound amazing...
I'm fairly sure that the vacancies you're looking at are for jobs in international schools, that is, primary/secondary schools which teach the British or American national curriculum. The Middle East aside, TEFL jobs simply don't pay anywhere near that amount. Wages here in Europe are little more than subsistence level.
Lmilton wrote:...and am curious to know more about the conditions and the actual lessons that would be taught, eg. do we as the teachers create all lessons, lesson plans, units of work, resources, etc?